The construction for the Ananta Samakhom Throne hall was initiated by King Rama V in 1907 and finished in the reign of King Rama VI. Its neo-classical Renaissance architecture, particularly the central dome is the limelight of its aesthetic appeal and envisions the work of the Italian architects Mario Tamango and Annibale Rigotti. After the 1932 coup it housed the first Thai parliament, but today its ornate interiors serve as a prestigious place to host visiting dignitaries, hold state council meetings and embrace royal occasions.
The Throne Hall is a two storey construction with a large dome (49.5 m high) in the centre, surrounded by six smaller domes. The domes and walls are covered with paintings by Professor Galileo Chini and Carlo Riguli depicting the history of the Chakri Dynasty, from the first to the sixth reign. The Ananta Samakhom Throne Hall is open to the general public as a museum and today the building houses an exhibit called Arts of the Kingdom, which like the nearby Abhisek Dusit Throne Hall displays the products of Queen Sirikit’s Support foundation.
The main attraction here is the guided tour in English which is highly informative. The museum opens from 10 am to 5 pm daily (except Monday). The use of photography is prohibited inside the premises. Considering this is a Royal property, one is not allowed to enter its premises without a proper dress code. One should make sure that he is properly covered in clothes before he decides to visit this place. Another alternative is to buy a sarong which is easily available here and is a Thai traditional dress. The ticket price for entry is 150 Thai Bahts.